We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Everything is Beautiful in paper

Eleanor Ray

 

 

Illustration: SCRINKL
Design/Art Direction: Siobhan Hooper

 
Imprint: Piatkus
Published: HB – 25/03/2021
ISBN: 9780349427430
RRP: £12.99
 
 
 
www.scrinkl.com

When Amy Ashton’s world fell apart eleven years ago, she started a collection.

Just a few keepsakes of happier times: some honeysuckle to remind herself of the boy she loved, a chipped china bird, an old terracotta pot . . . Things that others might throw away, but to Amy, represent a life that could have been.

Now her house is overflowing with the objects she loves – soon there’ll be no room for Amy at all. But when a family move in next door, a chance discovery unearths a mystery, and Amy’s carefully curated life begins to unravel. If she can find the courage to face her past, might the future she thought she’d lost still be hers for the taking?

Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant and The Keeper of Lost Things, this exquisitely told, uplifting novel shows us that however hopeless things might feel, beauty can be found in the most unexpected of places.

Brief:
This is quirky and uplifting commercial fiction.
A quirky and beautiful read – a MUST read ¬– about someone who starts a collection of beautiful things that slowly spirals out of control.
It’s a ‘coming to terms’ story, but it’s also a mystery and a love story too.

Aimed at Waterstones, Indies and Amazon for the HB. To sit alongside the likes of Gail Honeyman’s Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, Emma Healy’s Elizabeth is Missing and Ruth Hogan’s The Keeper of Lost Things.
The cover would need to be iconic – almost trend starting
 

Process:
It was clear from the outset that this cover should be illustrative and bold. We wanted to communicate the emotional ties we have to the things around us that shape not only our past, but also our future, in a way that felt beautiful and uplifting at the same time.

After exploring a number of different concepts, I came across papercut artist Margaret Scrinkl, who’s art had a simplicity and charm that felt perfect for this book and inspired by this, settled on the idea of a house that couldn’t contain everything inside.

The nod to the shape of the envelope felt perfect as it tied in so well with the story. Once the concept of the cover was approved, Margaret and I worked together to refine what objects and colours we wanted to incorporate for the final artwork. We started with initial sketches to make sure all the elements we wanted were in place before the final artwork was produced. Watch the video to see her at work!

Each chapter in the book is focuses around a different object that our lead character, Amy Ashton, collects so as well as the artwork for the cover, we additionally created illustrated chapter openers and endpapers to tie the whole concept together.